SCRA Recruitment

Spread the love

Special Class Railway Apprentice can be abbreviated as SCRA which is an entrance exam conducted by UPSC to recruit the candidates for the railway department. It is a fair opportunity to all the candidates who wish to make their career in the railway department.

The main objective of the exam is to select the candidates for the mechanical department. The candidates who want to seek the job fill the application form before the last date of filing the application form.


Examination Name Union Public Service Commission Special Class Railway Apprentice
Familiarly Known as UPSC SCRA
Exam Level National level
Mode of Exam Offline
Frequency of Exam Once a year
Eligibility Candidates should pass 10+2 Class from a recognized Board/University
Conducting body UPSC
Total marks in Written Test 600 marks
Total marks in Personality Test 200 marks
Negative Marking There will be no Negative marking scheme.
Age Limit 17-21 Years
Official Website


EVENTS (Tentative) DATES
 Official notification October 2020
Online application form  October 2020
Last date to apply  November 2020
Availability of  Admit Card December 2020
Commencement of Exam  January 2021
Declaration of Results Yet to be notify


Age Limit: Aspirant age must be in between 17-21 years.

SCRA Education Qualifications: Aspirants should have passed 12th with physics, chemistry, and mathematics as a mandatory subject.

Applicants must have at least 45% of score in 12th class from recognized university. Aspirants must have completed the first year of graduation degree (3 year program) by 2nd division in the examination.

Aspirants who have passed the first year of graduation are also eligible to apply for the examination. Aspirants who have completed their Pre- Engineering with at least 2nd division are also eligible to apply for SCRA exam.


The interested candidates in UPSC SCRA 2021 can apply for exam by filling the application form. The guidelines to fill the application form are given below.

Step 1 : First visit to the official website of UPSC and login to website.

Step 2 : Search for the option apply now and click on it.

Step 3 : Register yourself by filling necessary details.

Step 4 : A registration ID and password will be sent to your registered email Id and phone number.

Step 5 : Login using those credentials to the official website.

Step 6 : Enter all the details such as personal, academic details in application form with all verified details.

Step 7 : Then upload the scanned image of passport size photograph, signatures, and required documents in prescribed format.

Step 8 : Make payment of the application fee.

Step 9 : Review the details and submit the application form.

Step 10 : Take out the print out of the application form for further process.


The application fees can be paid via online mode by debit card, credit card, net banking, etc. The application fee varies according to the category of the candidates. The application fee for the general category is INR 100.


There will be two sections in examination paper 1 and paper 2 The first section will be a written examination and the other section is physical science.

The first section is of 600 marks. The questions shall be arising from the subjects of General Knowledge, Psychology & English. Questions will be multiple choice The second section is of 200 marks. the duration of the exam is 2 hour for both exam one marks will be given for each correct answer

Negative marking for the wrong answer. After the examination, there will also be an interview phase.


The admit card will be made available by the conducting authority on the official website, The Candidates can download it from the official website as it will get released a few days before the examination.The application number and password/date of birth of candidates are required to download the admit card. It will consist of the details of a candidate and the venue of the examination.


The result of SCRA will be announced on the official website. The Candidates can check out their results from that website only. The candidates need to enter their registration number and roll number to check their result. The candidate who scores marks more than the cut-off for the exam will be considered as qualified.